India announces mandatory PCR tests for arrivals from 5 countries

AFP / Arun Sankar

Travellers from China, Japan, South Korea, Hong Kong and Thailand will be subjected to mandatory PCR tests upon arrival in India and put under quarantine if they test positive or display symptoms of COVID-19.

Arrivals from the countries mentioned above must also fill out the Air Suvidha form and declare their current health status. 

From December 24, Saturday, India will start random testing of 2 per cent of international passengers for COVID-19 arriving at its airports.

The authorities have urged everyone to wear masks and observe proper physical distancing. 

Children under the age of 12 are exempt from testing unless they are found to be symptomatic then, they shall undergo testing and be treated as per the protocol.

More from International News